• Contact us
  • Location & visitor info
  • Search
  • Visitor Info
  • Contact us
The Venue


RDS Visual Art Awards

The RDS Visual Art Awards provides a platform for graduating artists as they transition from student into early professional career.

A team of independent curators view the end of year degree shows in selected colleges around the country. They will longlist artists, who will be invited to apply online for the 2017 RDS Visual Art Awards. A panel of five judges nominated by the RDS, RHA, IMMA and National Gallery of Ireland, will select artists from these applications for inclusion in this curated exhibition in the RDS Concert Hall which will take place October 25-30 2017.

Selected exhibiting artists will work with professional artist Nick Miller who will curate the exhibition. They will also have the opportunity to win a share of the €20,000 prize fund. The judging panel will select the winners of the €10,000 RDS Taylor Art Award, and the €5,000 R.C. Lewis-Crosby Award which will be announced at the launch of the exhibition. In 2017 the RDS will introduce a new three month residency award (summer 2018) in partnership with the Centre Culturel Irlandais (CCI) in Paris. The Director of CCI will select the winner from the exhibitors who have applied for the residency. This new Residency Award is sponsored by Mason Hayes & Curran. The RDS Visual Art Awards rules can be viewed here.


2016 RDS Visual Arts Awards Exhibition Oct 25-31 from RDS on Vimeo.

In October 2016 the inaugural RDS Visual Art Awards Exhibition showcased the very best and most exciting work coming out of Ireland’s art colleges in 2016. The 2016 Exhibition was curated by Alice Maher and was free to attend and ran at the RDS Concert Hall from October 26 - 31.


Bassam Al-Sabah, Megan Burns, Susan Buttner, Marcus Craig, Aoife Dunne, Michelle Hall, Elaine Hoey, Justyna Kielbowicz, Siobhán O'Connor, Jane Rainey, Joanne Reid, Sven Sandberg and Laura Skehan. 

The 2016 RDS Visual Art Awards Winners:

Aoife Dunne - RDS Monster Truck Studio Award (Value €5,000)

Michelle Hall - R.C. Lewis-Crosby Award €3,000

Sven Sandberg - R.C. Lewis-Crosby Award €3,000

Elaine Hoey - RDS Taylor Art Award €10,000


For further information please contact:

Dara O'Leary
RDS Arts Programme Manager
Dublin 4
Tel: +353 (0) 1 240 7255
Email: arts@rds.ie

Share this page

Get RDS updates in your inbox.

Get all RDS updates in your inbox.

What updates would you like to subscribe to?