• Contact us
  • Location & visitor info
  • Search
  • Visitor Info
  • Contact us
The Venue

Science & Technology

RDS-Irish Times Boyle Medal for Scientific Excellence

The Boyle Medal is Ireland’s most prestigious scientific honour. The award recognises scientific research of exceptional merit and continues a tradition that stretches back to the 19th century.

Since its inception, the Medal has been awarded to 39 distinguished scientists including George Johnstone Stoney (1899), John Joly (1911), Edward Conway (1967), Patrick Cunningham (1996), Garret A. FitzGerald (2005), Luke O’Neill (2009); Margaret Murnane (2011) and Seamus Martin (2014).

In 1999 the awarding of the Boyle Medal became a joint venture between the RDS and The Irish Times. It is now awarded biennially - alternating between a scientist based in Ireland and an Irish scientist based abroad, carrying with it a cash prize of €20,000.

Seamus J. Martin, Smurfit Professor of Medical Genetics, Trinity College Dublin was awarded the 2014 RDS Irish Times Boyle Medal for Scientific Excellence for his pioneering work in molecular biology and immunology. Professor Martin has made outstanding contributions to the understanding of programmed cell death, a process that underpins numerous aspects of human biology and which has significant implications for the treatment of major diseases such as cancer, Parkinson’s and autoimmunity.

Previous RDS Irish Times Boyle Medal for Scientific Excellence

For further information, please contact:

Karen Sheeran
RDS Science & Technology Programme Manager
Dublin 4
Tel: +353 (0) 1 240 7289
Email: science@rds.ie

Share this page

Get RDS updates in your inbox.

Get All RDS Venue updates into your inbox

If you want to stay informed on the RDS Philanthropic society click here.